The South Weber Justice Court was established in 1971 when the city was incorporated. Its mission is to improve the quality of life for the residents and non-residents who frequent the city. The Court has jurisdiction to adjudicate infractions and misdemeanors (Class B & C) when the violation occurred within city boundaries. Several law enforcement agencies issue citations into the South Weber Justice Court including Utah Highway Patrol, Davis County Sheriff’s Office, and the Division of Wildlife Resources. Small claims cases which either occurred in the city or where the defendant resides in the city may also be heard if the suit is $11,000 or under.
Introducing MyCase — an online portal where you can:
- Make payments and view balances
- See the date and time of your upcoming court hearings
- See case history for your court case(s)
- See documents that have been filed in your court case(s)
- In order to register for a MyCase account you must be able to prove your identity and have a valid email address.
To register for a MyCase account please go to utcourts.gov/MyCase or scan the QR code to visit the page.
The Utah Supreme Court has cancelled in person hearings until further notice. All hearings will be held electronically. This court will be available by phone or email for court business. We request that you do not pay with cash.
If you have received a citation, you must contact the court no less than 5 days and no more than 14 days after the issue date. If you fail to respond within 14 days, it may result in late fees and/or a warrant for your arrest being issued.
The Justice Court uses the State of Utah Uniform Fine Schedule as a guideline in setting bail and sentencing.
Per UCA 76-3-301.7 you may request community service in place of fine payment. You will need to appear in open court with a plan including the non-profit or government agency that has agreed to supervise your service and when you will complete the hours, if approved.
Most charges may be paid online, over the phone, in person or by mail. Some charges require a court appearance. (Appears as ‘Mandatory Court Appearance’ in the comment column of the fine schedule or underlined on common violations.) There is a $3 convenience fee for payments on-line or over the phone.
If you have questions, please call the court clerk at 801.479.3177 ext. 2203
Frequently Asked Questions:
How do I pay a ticket?
You may pay online, over the phone, in person or by mail. Court clerks have authority to set up payment plans with a minimum amount $50 per month. There is no grace period. A $3.00 convenience fee will be charged on each digital transaction.
- You will need your court case number or citation number. Please verify the name on the case to assure your payment is posted correctly.
- If you are considering traffic school, do not pay online. If you pay, a guilty plea will be entered negating the advantages of traffic school. Contact the court during regular business hours to see if you are eligible. Then you will need to fill out plea in abeyance forms at the court office.
- If you have an active warrant, contact the court during regular business hours so your warrant will get recalled immediately.
- Call 801.479.3177 extension 2203 or 2205
- Discover Card, Master Card, Visa and e-check accepted. There is a $3.00 fee for electronic payments.
- Payment must be made by the card holder.
- In Person: Please limit office visits whenever possible during the current health crisis. Available by appointment for specific situations.
- South Weber City Justice Court: 1600 E South Weber Drive, South Weber, Utah 84405.
- Personal and business checks are NOT accepted on Warrants. You may pay with cash, cashier’s check or money order.
- Mail/Drop Box:
- South Weber City Justice Court, 1600 East South Weber Drive, South Weber, Utah 84405.
- The court case number or citation number must be referenced.
- Do not send cash through the mail.
- There is a drop box at City Hall.
- Payment must reach the court by the due date.
- Return check policy
Per UCA 7-51-1 a $20 fee will be assessed for all returned checks. Per UCA 7-15-1 an additional $35 fee may also be assessed if after notification, the returned check is not covered. Future payments by check will not be accepted.
Can I do community service instead of paying a fine?
You have a legal right to request community service in place of a fine. Your service must be approved by Judge Memmott and must be done through a non-profit organization. To request this option, call the court and set a hearing date. You will be credited at $10 per hour. If community service is not done or proof provided as ordered, the community service will no longer be an option and the original fine will be imposed.
How do I do get on the Court calendar?
South Weber is an open court. You are not required to have an appointment; however it is best to verify the court date by calling the Court Clerk at 801.479.3177 x 2203
When is Court held?
Court is usually held on the first and third Thursday of each month at 4:00 p.m. but may be changed when conflicts arise. All hearings will be held electronically during the pandemic.
Court Calendars may be found at Http://www.utcourts.gov/cal/
Court begins at 4 pm and runs until all cases are seen. You must log-in by 5 pm to guarantee appearance. If you fail to appear, a warrant may be issued.
How do I join hearings electronically?
Currently all court hearings are being held electronically through Webex. If you have a scheduled hearing, you will be emailed an invitation on the afternoon of the hearing. Court is public so if you would like to observe the hearings may do so.
For January 6, 2022
By phone 1-408-418-9388
meeting ID 24814434055
Can I go to traffic school?
South Weber offers a 6 month traffic school plea in abeyance which means the guilty or no contest plea will be held until the terms are completed. After 6 months of full compliance, the charge will be dismissed. The administrative fee is $25 in addition to the cost of the violation. You are also required to take a traffic course either on-line (no charge) or with a neighboring city within 60 days.
The City Prosecutor has given the clerks very specific limitations regarding traffic school qualifications. Some qualifications are:
- Your current charge must be minor.
- speed must be under 19 miles over the limit
- an accident cannot be involved
- it cannot be in a school zone
- You must have a valid driver’s license when cited. You may not have a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
- You may not have had a plea in abeyance or attended a traffic school within the last 12 months.
- You may not have had more than 2 moving violations within the last three years from any state.
If you believe you qualify and would like to enter a motion to hold your plea in abeyance, please contact the court clerk at 801-479-3177 ext. 2203. After the clerk verifies your eligibility, you will be emailed the appropriate document to be returned by email within seven days. When it is received, the judge will sign an order to hold the plea in abeyance which will be emailed to you at that time with instructions on how to pay and complete the traffic course.
How do I get my record expunged?
- The statutory authority governing expungement is 77-40-101 et al of the Utah Code of Criminal Procedure.
- Expungement eligibility:
Questions: BCI Expungement Web Page
Apply at: Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI)
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84118
You will need a photo ID when you appear.
- If approved, BCI will issue a Certificate of Eligibility. The certificate must be presented to the court within 90 days along with the applicable fee.
- The prosecutor will review and put forward any objections. Then the judge will review and either grant the expungement or set a hearing.